Posted by: Perimeter Progressive | January 12, 2010

I am being judged in Califoria

I got a weird feeling when I was reading the courtroom liveblogging of the Prop 8 case over at http://prop8trialtracker.com/ and something hit me.  See, I’m gay.  And my rights are on trial here.  I’m on trial in California.

I’ve never really cared about gay marriage before now.  I’ve always thought we ought to be putting our efforts into getting ENDA passed first, since, well, that affects me more than not being able to get married.  First things first.

But reading the bloggers summations of what is being discussed…really put me in an odd mood.   I’m on trial.  Who I am and what I am worth as a human being is on trial.  Some may think that’s taking it a step too far, but its true.  Prop 8 declared I am not all that worthy has a human being, because I don’t deserve the same rights as others because of who I am.  This is the first time I’ve ever really had these feelings before.  And I don’t really know how to process it to tell you the truth.

Leave a Reply

Categories

