Posted by: The Last Liberal Gwinnettian | June 13, 2009

Sometimes I Really Hate Saying I Told You So

Back in 2003, I felt very much alone in saying that we should not initiate a hostile takeover in Iraq. As the arguments for going to war were heating up, I maintained that we had no business invading Iraq. At the time, I was a senior in high school. I was one of a very, very few Democrats in my graduating class, and I attended a school with a predominantly Republican faculty. In fact, on the day that Operation Shock and Awe went into effect, my Advanced Placement American Government teacher forced us to spend the entire period watching the bombing of Baghdad on Fox News Network. As my classmates sat with their eyes glued to the television screen, flashes of light echoing in their glazed eyes, I laid my head on the desk in shame. I listened to the sounds of bombs falling as I wondered how my country could be taking such actions. Yes, I was against the war from day one.

However, this post isn’t about the war, not really.

In the days leading up to our invasion of Iraq, our president explained that we faced an “axis of evil” (which has always made me think of the bad guys from comic books, not foreign policy). This axis was to be made up of Iraq, Iran, and North Korea. While it hurt even then to agree with anything that might come out of George W. Bush’s mouth, I agreed with him regarding the dangers of Iran and North Korea — but never Iraq.

In retrospect, I think we can all see that Iraq was by far the least dangerous of the three enemies that Bush introduced to us. Unless I have somehow missed the news that we made an amazing discovery in Iraq, the country did not have WMDs, and certainly did not have nuclear weapons. However, both IRan and North Korea were, even then, attempting to create nuclear programs. Which is why I would have been far more supportive of invading one of those two countries — countries which actually posed a danger — rather than Iraq.

Alas, we didn’t.

Instead, we have wasted six years fighting in Iraq, allowing Iran and North Korea to become far more threatening than they once were.

I urge you to pay close attention to both Iran and North Korea in coming months. They are a threat, a great threat, to world peace (or what little peace there is to be had in this world). Perhaps now we can stop ignoring them, because I really don’t want to say “I told you so” in another six years.

For the latest threat from North Korea, read this.

For the upsets in Iran, check this out.

Leave a Reply

Categories

