Posted by: Cobb County Liberal | June 3, 2009

GaGo10 – Barnes is In

To no one’s real surprise, Barnes is in the democratic primary for governor.

Courtesy of Jim Galloway,

Roy Barnes will announce today that he intends to become the first former Georgia governor in a half-century to reclaim the office after being turned out by voters.

The announcement is scheduled for 1:30 p.m. at the Marietta Conference Center. Barnes, we’re told, will delay the actual start of his campaign until July, in order to wrap up some trial work and finish up as chairman of the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards.

He’s in and is the early favorite on the Democratic side.  But I doubt I’ll be voting for him in the primary – he had his shot.  He blew it.  I’d rather him not blow it again.  I don’t think Barnes is the strongest candidate the Democrats could put up on our side.  Certainly if he gets the primary nod I’ll be all for him, but until then I’ll probably be rooting on Poythress (still undecided – once I make up my mind expect a post about it.)

Leave a Reply

Categories

