Posted by: Cobb County Liberal | May 28, 2009

Marta, Marta, Marta

So ARC ponied up 25 million for MARTA, but it’s not enough.

Higher MARTA fares and parking fees, rail service that ends at midnight, less frequent service and staff cutbacks are all close to reality at the transit agency.

A committee of the MARTA board on Thursday approved raising a MARTA ticket from $1.75 to $2 and other measures as part of a plan to fill a $109.8 million shortfall for the fiscal year that begins in July.

I think that public transportation *should* be a 24 hour a day thing.  If I lived somewhere close to a Marta station (thanks cobb) I could use Marta trains to get back home safely after a night of drinking /partying.  But ending at midnight will put more of these folks out on the road, since I doubt they’ll be done drinking by midnight.

I would probably take MARTA to the airport when I travel for business (like I am right now) and park at Sandy Springs or Dunwoody.  But what happens if my late night flight is delayed past 2am now?  Or midnight whenever these proposed changes take place?  About half the time I fly, I end up getting back right around midnight.  So there’s no way I could use Marta to get to the airport, as I wouldn’t be able get back home to my car.

I understand *why* they want to, of course, as not a whole heck of a lot of people do ride MARTA at that time, so it probably does lose money.  But I guess I see it as more of a public service.  It should be there.  It ought to be there in a city such as ours.  But it’s not, and it’s one of the biggest embarrassments of Atlanta on the national scale.

Leave a Reply

Categories

