Posted by: Cobb County Liberal | May 13, 2009

Secession is Treason.

I got told an innumerable amount of times during the Bush years that being against the War on Iraq (and when has a preposition ever been so hotly contested) amounted to being anti-American. And if I didn’t like America, I should move to Canada. Yet I didn’t move. Because I believe that America ought to live up to its highest aspirations. And, sometimes like a petulant child, it does things that I think are wrong. But I still want to help raise that child into something grand.

So who are the true patriots? Well, first, what’s that word even mean. This one, from wordnet, seems to work:

one who loves and defends his or her country

I particularly like the “loves.”  I may not have loved Bush’s cracked out policies and wars, but I could still love America.  That infuriated me during the Bush years.  Love does not mean a blind love.  Just like family, you can love them but still get aggravated-to-no-ends by them.  You fight, you yell, but its out of love.

I would say that if you want to leave your family, break all bonds with said family, that the love isn’t there anymore.   And that’s what I’m hearing about all over the place.  It’s akin to a child pissed off at their parents over their allowance, and threatening to run away.

But its so much more serious than that.

A couple more definitions:

insurrection/rebellion – organized opposition to authority; a conflict in which one faction tries to wrest control from another

treason -a crime that undermines the offender’s government

We have people like Neal Boortz (today on his show around 11:50) approving of succession from America, because they don’t like Obama’s financial policies.  Yet, when our county was sending people off of to die in war, for spurious reasons at best, we never thought of succeeding from the Union.  We worked to make the Union better.

These people, from the Texas Governor to Neal Boortz and Glen Beck, are advocating an overthrow of the federal government.  Yes, they’ll claim first amendment rights.  But the first amendment doesn’t protect you from shouting fire in a crowded theater.  They are advocating secession from the Union.  They are traitors (one who engages in treason) to this country.

We’ll get to this 10th amendment hypocrisy in a future post.


Responses

  1. You just have to love the Republican response when they hear their own words of “America, love it or leave it”…”Ok, we will see you later then”. I too was called anti-American for being against the Iraq war, and it angers me that I stuck around even though our country was killing thousands of people in our name, and now the Republicans are out of power for a few months and they just want to rip the country apart. Ridiculous.

  2. I have been an advocate of secession from Clinton, to Bush, to Obama. None of those individuals have made me want to have individual states throw off the United States of America. It is the United States of America that has caused that. If that makes me a traitor, then fine. I am a traitor. Make the most of it. That word has lost its sting.

  3. […] been calling it treason for weeks now.  I hope this thought starts to gain some […]

  4. It’s not about Obama; it’s about the entire tyrannical federal system, Democrats and Republicans alike.

    In any case, learn your history; you write in ignorance. See http://www.daveblackonline.com/was_secession_treason.htm and http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-Kuvj6FIefo


Leave a Reply

Categories

